Air University in Pakistan

The Air University of Pakistan is based in Islamabad, which was established in 2002. It is a Public University established by the Pakistan Air Force. The University offers Graduation, Post-Graduation and Doctorate degrees to students. The Air University is amongst the top ten universities of Pakistan and also a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities of UK.

Academic Faculties of Air University

The Air University has five faculties catering to various fields, and under each faculty are multiple Departments that offer courses in numerous areas of specializations. An overview of the faculties is below:

Faculty of Engineering

The faculty has four areas of specializations i.e Electronics, Telecommunications, Power, and Mechatronics. It has well equipped labs for students to gain practical knowledge. Moreover, the department of Mechatronics and Electrical Engineering under its arena, caters to multiple specializations for students.

Faculty of Administrative Sciences

This is the most socially active faculty of the Air University. It has strong links with corporate world and educates students to meet with the fast paced society with creativity and skills. The Department of Business Administration under Faculty of Administrative Sciences offers graduate and post graduate courses.

Faculty of Basic & Applied Sciences

The Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences has specializations in Topology, Image Processing, Networks, Software Engineering, Numerical Analysis, Mathematical Modeling and many more areas. It has three departments functioning under it, namely Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Department of Mathematics and Department of Physics. All of them work in sync to deliver the best quality Education to students.

Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities

The Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities encourages students to combine their theoretical knowledge with an understanding of the cultural and political processes. This helps to participate more effectively in formal and informal events. The Department of Humanities teaches students to be socially responsible, and it also supports the above faculties.

Institute of Avionics & Aeronautics (IAA)

At the Air University, this institute has been established as a centre for excellence for postgraduate studies and research and development in aviation related fields. The institute aims to support nascent aeronautical as well as other associated high tech industries in Pakistan through multi-disciplinary research. It has research labs, Department of Avionics Engineering and Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering under it.

Programs of Study in Air University

The Air University offers the following courses:
  • Bachelor Degree: The Air University offers 7 Bachelor degrees with various specializations such as. Bachelor in Business Administration, Computer science, Electrical and Mechanical sciences to name a few.
  • Master’s Degree: Master’s Degree facility is also available at the Air University. With 14 fields of specializations for students. The duration of post-graduation courses varies from 2 to 3 years depending on the course chosen by the students.
  • Doctorate: The University offers Ph.D in various disciplines.

Affiliated Institutes of Air University

Besides the courses available at various faculties of Air University, there are six institutes affiliated to the Air University. A glimpse of the institutes is below:

Bilquis College of Education for Women, Chaklala, Rawalpindi:

One of the top colleges of Pakistan, The Bilquis college offers 12 courses at graduate and post graduate levels.

Fazaia Degree College:

Bachelor degree courses are available at this college that is B.Sc and BCS.

Fazaia College of Education for Women, Lahore:

Both graduate and post-graduate courses are available at this college. It has been affiliated to the university since 19th May 2009.

Aero Medical Institute, PAF Base, Masroor, Karachi:

The institute has advance Course in Aviation Medicine.

PAF College of Flying Training, Risalpur:

The institute has been affiliated with the Air University from 24th August 2010 and offers BS (Aviation Sciences and Management) with specializations in fighter, logistics, air traffic control fields.

College of Education, Peshawar:

The Peshawar based college has been affiliated since 18th July 2008 and has only B.ed course.

College of Education for Women, Peshawar:

The College offers B.ed and Postgraduate Diploma in Montessori Method of teaching for women along with this the college has four short term courses as well.

Air War College:

The college based at Karachi has specialized courses in the field of war studies. Bachelor degree in the form of B.Sc Hons and BSc are also provided here. However this college was affiliated to the university only till 2008.

Admission and Staff at Air University

The admission cycle of Air University initiates from January of every year. Applications submission start from December of each year. The entrances for undergraduate courses are based on written test and interview.

The Air University has almost 120 faculty staff and enrolls 2,000-3,000 students every year. It also has visiting faculty from its collaborations around the world. For further details on Admissions in Air University Click Here.

Research and Student Life at Air University

Students at the Air University are encouraged to participate in technical & professional societies. The university emphasizes on practical knowledge and hence is fully equipped for research in fields such as Aerospace, Electronics, and Mechanical engineering to name a few.

Study trips are also arranged for this purpose and guest speakers are invited to motivate students. The university offers indoor and outdoor activities within the campus. It has also been represented in many International platforms by students and in 2006 a student was awarded the United States Fulbright Undergraduate Scholarship.

To get more information on Air University, please visit

Contact Information of Air University

The Air University now has 2 campuses as in 2011 has opened a new campus in Multan. The location details for both the campuses are:

Sector E-9 Islamabad
Tel: +92-51-9262557-9
Fax: +92-51-9260158

3rd, 4th & 5th Floor, Khan Centre
82-Abdali Road Multan Cantt
Tel: 061-4780093

How To reach Air University

Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Articles to display

More »

  • No Press Releases to display

More »


Pakistan Select a Country

Our Network :